Help Center


Sync Private Identity & Linking My Devices


My Devices is one of the most powerful features available in licensed Sync Home Pro and Business. By linking your desktop, laptop and mobile phone/tablet with Sync's PKI implementation, you can securely get all your data onto any of your devices without creating an account in the cloud. The unique digital certificate which is created when you open Sync for the first time holds your folder permissions, establishes connections with other devices, and licenses you for Sync Pro. In addition, you get all the following benefits:

Easier security: Once a remote user approves a connection to one of your devices, they can choose to automatically approve you on all your linked devices for any future sharing.

Universal access: Once you get your devices linked, all of your Sync folders will automatically be available from any of those devices.

Faster approvals: When you receive a folder access request from a new peer, you'll be able to approve them from any device where the folder is in the "Selective Sync"  or "Synced" mode.

CREATING CERTIFICATE

23.pngStart Sync and type in your name/nickname - it will serve as your identifier for other users, therefore make sure you pick something other peers will recognize. Once you hit "Create identity", Sync will generate your unique digital certificate.

If you mis-typed your name or simply would like to create a new one, first you'll have to unlink this device. Click here for instructions.


LINKING DEVICES

Now that the identity is set and certificate is created, you can start linking all your devices to it. When your devices are linked, every time you add a folder on one of your devices, it will AUTOMATICALLY be available on all the other devices, that is, ALL the folders will be visible and accessible on ALL linked devices and no additional links or keys will have to be sent.

If you already have some shares configured in Sync on device1, it's important if you link device2 to device1 or vice versa. If you take the M-key from device1, and use it on device2, the latter will take the identity name, fingerprint of device1 and get all the configured shares from device1. 

Sync will provide you with several synchronization modes for each of your devices, thus letting you choose how much data (if any) Sync will be fetching to this or that device every time a new folder is added on the other devices. For more information regarding synchronization modes, click here.

To be able to link other devices to this one, apply the license key to this Sync instance or enable Pro Trial. After getting Pro, click 'My devices' -> Link device. (in Sync Free the Link device button is dimmed, greyed out). Here you can also see the list of all linked devices. 

22.png

 

Sync will offer two options:

1) scan a QR code with a mobile device to link that to this computer.
2) link a desktop device manually – use this option to copy/paste the M-key and link your desktops and laptops. 
"Copy key": copy the M-key, deliver it to remote device so that remote device links to the current one. 
"Enter a key": paste the M-key taken from remote device so that this device links to the remote one. 

     24.png

 

 

 

 

 

It may take your devices a little bit of time to get linked, but once the connection is established, a new window will pop up suggesting default folder location and prompting three states of synchronization: Disconnected, Selective Sync and Synced (click here for more detail).

If you would like to link additional devices - whether it be desktop computers or mobile phones/tablets - simply repeat the above steps: take the M-key and deliver it to the device that you want to link here. 

The linked devices show up in the list, each device has it's name and shows the selected synchronization mode - Disconnected/Sync All/Selective Sync. You can click on a device with "Sync All" mode and see its storage status. Grey/greed dot indicates if device is offline/online.

25.png 

 IMPORTANT If you attempt to link two devices which are already running Sync (hence have different certificates), one of the devices will "lose" its certificate and take over the certificate of the other device. When that happens, all Advanced folders on the device which acquires a new certificate will be removed from the app and new folders from the other instance of Sync will be copied. Note that your folders will only be removed from Sync - none of them will actually be deleted from the file system.

Purchasing Sync Pro or upgrading to the Pro version in the course of the trial period will turn Sync on all of your linked devices into the Pro version as well.

 

Tip: While syncing/updating files, Sync relies on the internal clock of your device, therefore, it's crucial that the time settings on all of your devices are correct. Failure to maintain correct time & timezone may result in Excessive time difference error

 

You can unlink this device at any time, however, in this case, all connections to other peers will be lost, and you’ll have to create a new Sync identity or link this device to another device on which identity is already set. Also note that you cannot remotely unlink other devices from this device.

To unlink this device, go to My devices > This device > Unlink this device:

26.png


If one or several of your linked devices go offline and are not in use for a while, you can clear them from the device list. Click here to learn more.

This information: DIDN'T HELP / WAS USEFULThanks!


Please note that we won't mail you back. This is just purely feedback on the article above. If you need help from our Support Team, please use the "Contact Support" link at the top of the page.