Help Center


Upgrade on dekstops (BitTorrent Sync -> Resilio Sync)


Migration implies moving Storage folder from old location, belonging to BitTorrent Sync, to new one, belonging to Resilio Sync. All settings, license information and added shares will be preserved in Sync. 

Before starting migration, please see important notes about possible downgrade below in this article. 

 

MIGRATING ON OS X

For successful migration follow these steps: 

1. Stop BitTorrent Sync app. Make sure that all transfers are finished, and you quit it correctly so that all setting are saved. 

2. Download Resilio Sync and launch it. Copy Resilio Sync to Applications and start it from there. 

3. Seeing this screen means that migration is about to begin. Read and agree to Privacy Policy, Terms and EULA to proceed.

4. Once done, Resilio Sync will open, showing all your shares, and following changes in the system will be observed:

- BitTorrent Sync app will be deleted from Applications  
- Old BitTorrent Sync storage folder at /Users/username/Library/Application Support/BitTorrent Sync will be moved to new storage folder at /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Resilio Sync
- All settings from BitTorrent Sync will be additionally archived and saved in new storage as /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Resilio Sync/sync-vX.X.X-#######.backup, having the previous version and current timestamp in its name 

Done. You can keep using Resilio Sync.

If settings are not migrated, you can do that manually: 
Quit Sync, copy everything from /Users/username/Library/Application Support/BiTorrent Sync to /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Resilio Sync, start Sync. 

 

MIGRATING ON WINDOWS

For successful migration follow these steps: 

1. Stop BitTorrent Sync app. Make sure that all transfers are finished, and you quit it correctly so that all setting are saved. 

2. Download Resilio Sync and launch it.

3. Seeing this screen means that migration is about to begin. Read and agree to Privacy Policy, Terms and EULA to proceed.

NOTE: if you have BitTorrent Sync installed 'as service' make sure that you also check "Install as service" on Resilio Sync setup wizard! 

 

4. Once done, Resilio Sync will open, showing all you shares, and the following changes in the system will be observed: 

- BitTorrent Sync application will be uninstalled
- Old BitTorrent Sync storage folder at C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\BitTorrent Sync will be moved to new storage folder at C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Resilio Sync
- All settings from BitTorrent Sync will be additionally archived and saved in new storage as C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Resilio Sync\sync-vX.X.X-#######.backup, having the previous version and current timestamp in its name.

Done. You can keep using Resilio Sync.

If settings are not migrated, you can do that manually: 
Quit Sync, copy everything from C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\BitTorrent Sync to C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Resilio Sync, start Sync. 

 

MIGRATING ON LINUX

The core idea of migration on a Linux is to point new binary (rslsync) to the same storage as used by btsync. For successful migration follow these steps: 

1. Stop btsync process. Make sure that you stop it correctly, so that the process can save its settings.

2. Download and put rslsync binary beside btsync. 

3. Launch it from the same location. Here you have a  few options:

- launch with command ./rslsync. Storage folder .sync will be created in your current location. If there is already one, it will be used. 
- launch with command ./rslsync --storage /path/to/old/.sync. The pointed storage will be used.
- if you used btsync in config mode with storage folder defined there, you can utilize same config file: ./rslsync --config /path/to/sync.conf

4. Once done, you can open Sync WebUI and see your shares there, besides:

- Older binary btsync will be preserved, so if you have any startup scripts with it, please update these accordingly. 
- All settings will be additionally created in storage, in folder sync-vX.X.X-#######.backup, having the previous version and current timestamp in its name.

 

DOWNGRADE INFORMATION

Technically downgrade is possible. If for a reason you want to downgrade, you need to follow these steps:

1. Download Sync v2.3.8.

2. Manually create its storage folder: 

Windows: C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\BitTorrent Sync
OS X: /Users/username/Library/Application Support/BitTorrent Sync
Linux: you can either create a new storage or keep using the current one

3. Copy all files from Resilio Sync\sync-vX.X.X-#######.backup folder and put them to storage created on step2. For Linux: if you opt to use the current storage, clear it and put the files from sync-vX.X.X-#######.backup instead. 

4. Launch BitTorrent Sync app. Linux: if you opt to create a new storage, make sure you point btsync binary to it. 

 

Important note:Before downgrading you should know that:

- License is not downgradable, because file association with .btskey cannot be reverted. You will need to manually re-apply it via Licenses -> Apply license menu in BitTorrent Sync. On Linux follow standard flow of applying a license.

Selective Sync folders are not downgradable, because placeholders are renamed to .rsla. If you downgrade a selective Sync share, non-synced files will be deleted from all peers. 

This information: DIDN'T HELP / WAS USEFULThanks!


Please note that we won't mail you back. This is just purely feedback on the article above. If you need help from our Support Team, please use the "Contact Support" link at the top of the page.